Overview |

President's Message FREE TO VIEW

James A. L. Mathers, Jr, MD, FCCP
Author and Funding Information

Reproduction of this article is prohibited without written permission from the American College of Chest Physicians (www.chestjournal.org/site/misc/reprints.xhtml).

Copyright © 2009 American College of Chest Physicians

Chest. 2009;136(5_suppl):e1. doi:10.1378/chest.09-2261
Text Size: A A A
Published online

Congratulations to the ACCP on its seventy-fifth anniversary and celebration of inspiring leadership, education, communication, and clinical practice. Since 1935, tens of thousands of health professionals worldwide have joined the ACCP to promote patient care in chest medicine. The accomplishments of these members—past and present—link through time to write an impressive and proud history for our organization.

As the ACCP celebrates 75 years of inspiration, so does CHEST. To honor the occasion, this CHEST 75th Commemorative Edition highlights 75 seminal studies that have been published in the journal since the first issue in March 1935. I would like to thank Loren J. Harris, MD, FCCP, and Glenn S. Tillotson, PhD, FCCP, for spearheading this project. As members of the ACCP Marketing Committee, Drs. Harris and Tillotson conceived the idea and drove it forward. They tirelessly reviewed > 36,000 articles from all past issues and evaluated each study's influence to select the 75 seminal studies. The top 75 are listed in a special online collection at www.chestjournal.org/content/136/5_suppl. From the top 75 articles, Drs. Harris and Tillotson further narrowed their selection to the 12 most important studies, which are reprinted in this commemorative edition. The citations for the remaining 63 articles are listed at the end. Drs. Harris and Tillotson have made excellent selections, and I encourage you to read their “Introduction to 75 Years of Publishing CHEST” to understand and appreciate their process.

For their dedication to clinical medicine, CHEST, and this project, Drs. Harris and Tillotson are the 2009 recipients of the Alfred Soffer Award for Editorial Excellence. This award honors those who make significant contributions to CHEST and who are world experts in pulmonary and critical care medicine. Recipients have published numerous papers, served as primary investigators, and/or served as a CHEST department editor. As extraordinary critical reviewers of literature, and with a wealth of clinical expertise and a passion for patient care, Drs. Harris and Tillotson are worthy recipients of this award. I offer them my congratulations.

I look forward to this year of celebration with the ACCP. There is much to applaud with our past accomplishments, and there is much to look forward to as we embark on the future of clinical chest medicine.




Citing articles are presented as examples only. In non-demo SCM6 implementation, integration with CrossRef’s "Cited By" API will populate this tab (http://www.crossref.org/citedby.html).

Some tools below are only available to our subscribers or users with an online account.

Related Content

Customize your page view by dragging & repositioning the boxes below.

  • CHEST Journal
    Print ISSN: 0012-3692
    Online ISSN: 1931-3543